h1

Are You Driving Your Life Blindfolded?

May 22, 2009
Patti Blevins

Patti Blevins

As you work in your home based business opportunity to work at home, most successful people are also plugged into a personal growth regimen and understand the necessity of doing so.  Our ‘Mentoring For Free’ system includes a Mastermind group on Wednesdays where we focus on personal growth.  You’ve heard it said many times that ‘to have more, you must become more’.  It means we have to work on ourselves.  And sometimes, it’s evident that it needs to be near the top as priority.

This week on our Wednesday Mental Cleanse calls, we were masterminding chapter 12 of the 1937 classic, “Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill.  Chapter 12 is titled “The Subconscious Mind”.  Most people just have no idea what a powerhouse our subconscious minds are.  The subtitle of the chapter reads:  “You see how your subconscious mind waits like a sleeping giant to back up every plan and purpose.  At last you can fill your subconscious with positively-directed thoughts that bring anything you want in life.”

You read in recent posts about team member, Loretta Helson’s, lessons learned from another recent chapter.  And this week, Loretta continues her efforts to dig deep and grow.  Here is Loretta’s ‘lesson plan’ about what she learned and applied to her life from this chapter on ‘The Subconscious Mind’…

“Chapter 12 – The Subconscious Mind – The Connecting Link – Lesson by Loretta Helson
 
Wow! I have read this chapter over and over the last few weeks. But I was up all night ’til 6:30 am reading, thinking, defining the words, trying to understand what Mr. Hill was saying about the subconscious mind. Yes, I sent in my lesson.

Then I thought about the brilliance of Patti who read my lesson (on Chapter 11) – in First Person. As I listened to her read it, the whole lesson had an entirely different angle. It was Me talking! 
 
I guess I was trying to keep “I” out of “Team”… I’ve been taught not to talk so much about MY-self. It’s the selfish person. Perhaps that’s the yellow personality talking!

Thoughts like “it’s not about You” popped into my head.
“What’s in it for THEM?” . . .  But the Mental Cleanse is all about PERSONAL Growth! It IS about Me!  “I” is permitted!!  What am “I” learning? So I went back and changed this lesson plan on Chapter 12 to First Person.

But you know what? It didn’t work!
 
My lesson was STILL just a summary of Mr. Hill’s chapter. Anyone can do that! I need to, not only learn these interesting new concepts, but more importantly to apply them to myself! Michael said, “You have to Own It!” That’s what I was missing…

It’s easy to summarize an amazing piece of literature, but to be more, I have to grow more. “To have more I have to become more.”

This is truly a learning experience. If I didn’t participate and send in my last lesson, I never would have learned this! Thank you, Michael and Patti!
 
I need to always ask, “How does the information in this chapter affect me and how can I use it in my life?”
 
So here it is again, a third time. (Sorry, Michael!) This time I will bare my soul! Even though it’s quite revealing, this group has proven to be a safe place to share these very personal things about myself and my life and I thank you all for that.
 
All my life I have been fighting negativity. When a bad situation arises, it gets even worse. I have, not only once, fallen into deep despair and depression.
Despair is the opposite of hope. Yes, sometimes it has been so bad that sleep was more enjoyable than life. Constantly struggling, trying to make life better…
sometimes it becomes overwhelming.
 
Once, years ago, on a training call about communication, the coach asked, “Would you like to reschedule this for another time?” I was puzzled and asked, “Why do you say that? No, I need to learn how to communicate better with others; I have to build my business. I can do it now!”

Once again she said, “we can do this another time, when you’re ready.”
 
I didn’t understand! I thought I answered her opening questions clearly and with a happy tone! How could she possibly Know? As the conversation progressed, and after I revealed the personal problems I was going through, I asked her how she knew I wasn’t ready. 

She said, “I FELT your sorrow.” Wow! I can only hope to become as perceptive as she was as I coach and mentor others.
 
Yes, Hill says the subconscious mind picks up all kinds of signals, both negative and positive from all around us.
Everything we read, hear, watch, our personal experiences and observations.

That’s why Michael insists that we TURN OFF the radio, news, tv, propaganda, and stay away from negative people and influences.
 
The negative thoughts need no help to reach our mind.
They will enter the subconscious mind when I neglect it. So I have to actively block them and constantly feed my mind with upbuilding, meaningful, positive food.
 
Easier said than done, but well worth it. This is what is going to help me the most – to become the positive, happy, vital, productive person I want to be. Yes, I have to Own It!
 
The key to this formula for getting what we Want – whether it be money or anything else in life – that all 500 of the interviewed wealthy men did is right  here! This chapter pulls everything together, like glue!
 
Hill says, “The presence of a single negative in your conscious mind is sufficient to destroy all chances of constructive aid from your subconscious mind.”
 
I have to consistently, daily, keep negative thoughts out of my mind. Everything starts as a thought…. My idea must become a burning desire, a passion driven by intense emotions, mixed with faith that I will attain it. I hand this plan over to my subconscious mind to work around the clock to come up with the plan I need – because emotions are like the yeast that provides the action to make the bread rise.

My emotions transform thoughts into their active state and brings them into reality. WOW!
 
This is where my creative imagination steps in and takes over. It gives me the hunch, the inspiration, the ‘ah-ha’ moment, the invention, the key, the answer – and suddenly . .  in a flash . .  the Plan Appears!
 
Hard to understand, yes. But this is where creative genius is born……..Pure Genius!!
 
What a great privilege and honor to be part of this amazing Group!  Thank you, Michael for making this all possible.” 

(Note:  Michael Dlouhy is the Founder of ‘Mentoring For Free’.  I invite You to join our 30 Day Mental Cleanse Mastermind on Wednesdays to learn to stop the mind chatter so You can focus on your desires of Today. )

And to top off the week, The Thought For The Day yesterday from The Napoleon Hill Foundation:

“IT’S MIGHTY EASY TO JUSTIFY DISHONESTY IF YOU MAKE YOUR LIVING FROM IT.  The subconscious mind makes no moral judgments.
If you tell yourself something over and over, your subconscious mind will eventually accept even the most blatant lie as fact. Those whose lives and careers have been destroyed by dishonest behavior began the process of self-destruction when they convinced themselves that one slight infraction of the rules wouldn’t matter. When you sell yourself on an idea, make sure the idea is positive, beneficial to you, and harmless to others. Just as negative thoughts and deeds return to their originator, so do positive ones. When you practice honest, ethical behavior, you set in motion a force for good that will return to you many times over.” 

As always, please remember that the past is over, so please stop trying to figure out what happened; the future isn’t here yet, so please stop worrying about what ‘might happen’.  All you have is Today, This Present Moment, Right Now…and what you think about Right Now is very powerful.  It’s entirely up to YOU what those thoughts are.  You can choose them or let others choose them for you by default. 

I strongly suggest that YOU choose them.  YOU are in charge of feeding your subconscious mind.  If you don’t feed it beneficial thoughts, the non-beneficial thoughts will and do feed your subconscious by default.  Your subconscious mind does NOT know right from wrong, positive from negative, beneficial from non-beneficial.  It just produces the outcome for you according to the “mind food” that YOU CHOOSE to feed it. 

And yes…NOT choosing IS choosing… to let your subconscious be fed by default with all the negativity so prevalent in this world today.  IT’S YOUR CHOICE!  Take responsibility for it Right Now.  Just do it!   We will help you!  The ‘Mentoring For Free’ complete system starts with reading THIS EBOOK.  I Believe In You… Please, please, please…Believe In Yourself!   Blessings, my Friend!

5 comments

  1. […] Blevins presents Are You Driving Your Life Blindfolded? posted at Patti Blevins, saying, “Believe In Yourself and Enjoy […]


  2. […] Blevins presents Are You Driving Your Life Blindfolded? posted at Patti Blevins, saying, “Believe In Yourself and Enjoy […]


  3. […] Blevins presents Are You Driving Your Life Blindfolded? posted at Patti Blevins, saying, “Believe In Yourself and Enjoy […]


  4. […] Blevins presents Are You Driving Your Life Blindfolded? posted at Patti Blevins, saying, “Believe In […]


  5. Investing in personal growth is important for staying motivated and focused on building a successful business. Thanks for your contribution to The Work at Home Family Carnival.



Leave a comment